Jukebox #2

The Wonder Years, ‘Passing Through A Screen Door’
This is one of my most beloved bands, but I didn’t jump on the new album from The Wonder Years – ‘The Greatest Generation’ – until last week. Why? Because as much as I love this band, they make me sad. Heart-wrenching lyrics of suburban angst, squandered potential, what ifs and regrets, lit only intermittently with a small glimmer of hope. There’s that ingrained human instinct to almost gravitate toward that which makes us a little sad and nostalgic. I think it’s hardwired into our psyche, that need for introspection and consideration of the bad in our lives. The Wonder Years are where I go for that – but to be honest, when the album came out, I wasn’t in a place where I wanted to be sad. I was still in California, but the calendar stared me in the face and the clocks kept ticking down to the day where I had to shape up and come home, and I just kept myself in denial for a weeks on end with happy music and alcohol and anything to keep my mind off the passing moments slipping through our fingers. I wasn’t in a place where I wanted to face this sort of music – but I am now. ‘Passing Through A Screen Door’ is where my life is at now – “conjuring ghosts on a forty hour ride home/And they keep asking me what I’m doing with my life,” “Jesus Christ. I’m 26/All the people I’ve graduated with/All have kids/All have wives/All have people who care if they come home at night.” I keep finding myself thinking about the people I can’t be with anymore, the people halfway across the world who wake up when I go to sleep and are going to sleep when I wake up.  I’m doing things with my life, I think I’m heading towards things I think I want, but I can’t shake the nagging thoughts about whether I’m doing the right thing now, and those constant thoughts of what those people are doing right now.

Leave a Reply

